In recognition of the special contributions women writers make to our culture and society, The Rona Jaffe Foundation is giving its nineteenth annual Writers’ Awards under a program that identifies and supports women writers of exceptional talent. The emphasis is on those in the early stages of their writing careers. This unique program offers grants to writers of fiction, creative nonfiction, and poetry to make writing time available and provide assistance for such specific purposes as child care, research and related travel costs.

Six emerging women writers have been singled out for excellence by the Foundation and will receive awards of $30,000 each. The 2013 winners are Tiffany Briere, Ashlee Crews, Kristin Dombek, Margaree Little, Kirstin Valdez Quade, and Jill Sisson Quinn.

Rona Jaffe (1931-2005) established The Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers’ Awards program in 1995. It is the only national literary awards program of its kind dedicated to supporting women writers exclusively. Since the program began, the Foundation has awarded more than $1.5 million to emergent women writers.

Ms. Jaffe was the author of sixteen books, including Class Reunion, Family Secrets, The Road Taken, and The Room-Mating Season (2003). Her 1958 best-selling first novel, The Best of Everything, was reissued by Penguin in 2005.

Note: The Foundation does
not accept unsolicited
applications or nominations.

(clockwise from top left): Tiffany Briere, Ashlee Crews, Margaree Little, Jill Sisson Quinn, Kirstin Valdez Quade, Kristin Dombek


2013 Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers' Awards Winners

(l-r): Margaree Little, Jill Sisson Quinn, Tiffany Briere, Kristin Dombek, Ashlee Crews, Kirstin Valdez Quade

Guest Speaker Joan Wickersham (center)

Photo by Star Black

> Download 2013 Press Release

> Read Joan Wickersham's 2013 Awards Ceremony Remarks

> Listen to the 2013 Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers' Awards Reading at New York University - September 20, 2013